

Spring, 2012

"KEEPING YOU INFORMED"

2012 Annual ACAVA Conference



Mark Whitmer, ACAAA Board President welcomes conference attendees.

2012 Annual ACAAA Conference was held May 23—25 at the Wyndham Riverfront Hotel in Little Rock.

The theme of this year's conference was "Unmasking Poverty" and provided valuable training and information for agencies seeking to fulfill their missions in today's accountability -driven atmosphere. It also focused on unmasking the institutional, systematic, and cultural aspects of working to reduce poverty that may go unrecognized and unaddressed.

TED CLEMONS was awarded the CAPPY for Best Performance in a Leading Role on Thursday, May 24th during the ACAAA Awards Luncheon.



Ted Clemons, beaming over his victory.



C-SCDC Staff and C-SCDC Board member Paula Riordan enjoying Wednesday night's Masquerade Party!

Karen Phillips Appointed to Policy-Influencing Position by Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas

Karen Phillips, director of Home Ownership and Asset Development for Crawford- Sebastian Community Development Council in Fort Smith, has been appointed to the advisory council of the Federal Home Loan Bank in Dallas, an institution that provides funds to members in five states to foster affordable housing and community investment.

Phillips, who's also the chairwoman of Arkansas Coalition of Housing and Neighborhood Growth for Empowerment (ACHANGE), which promotes affordable housing throughout the

state, was nominated by Don Mayor of the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development in Little Rock, Steve Echols of Benefit Bank in Fort Smith, and Sherry Holden of the First Financial Mortgage in Fort Smith, and appointed by the bank's board of directors to serve a threeyear term extending through 2014. Mayor said in a news release announcing the appointment that Phillips "is extremely dedicated; she's helped a lot of people, and is a hard worker. I've worked with her for many years, and she just does a great job."

"I'm so proud of Karen," Mark Whitmer, C-SCDC Executive Director, said in the news release, adding that he and Phillips began working for the agency at the same time "and I have seen her take a small homebuyers assistance program and turn it into one of the finest housing programs in Arkansas. Her talent and ability are now being recognized by people outside the state."



Housing Tour

During the month of May in lieu of the Board of Directors meeting the Board members were treated to a tour of the various projects that C-SCDC's Homeownership and Asset Development Center are working on such as Mutual Self-Help Housing in the Willow Creek Addition in Cedarville, Acquisition Rehab, and the Clayton Park Sub-division.



Pictured above is one of the houses we are building in the Clayton

Park Sub-Division

Pictured above are Board members touring the inside of the Acquisition Rehab located on Alabama Street in Fort Smith.

Executive Director

Mark Whitmer

Personnel Director

Darlene Hill

Financial Director

Sally Fisher

Homeownership Center

Karen Phillips

Weatherization Director

Debbie Biggs

Director

Child Care Food Program

Carol Jenkins

Community Dental Clinic

Nenya Perry

River Valley Regional Food Bank Director

Ted Clemons
Editor

Michele Trawick 479-785-2303 ext 118





Sandy Lowe Homeownership Center Administrative Assistant

Board Members

Karen Pearson, Chairperson Abigail Taylor-Cox, Vice Chairperson Patricia Free, Secretary Tim Hodges, Treasurer Van Ferguson Judge David Hudson Mayor Lt. Colonel Gary Baxter Judge John Hall Elaine Stanfield (Representative) Sebastian Co. Sheriff Bill Hollenbeck Kevin Nickson (Representative) State Representative Tracy Pennartz Gene Bell Virginia Waldon Michael Shinn Shirley Lee Mayor Del Gabbard Ginny Wright (Representative) Paula Riordan Ling Ling Moorman Tricia Hall

Crawford-Sebastian Community Development Council, Inc.

P.O. Box 4069, 4831 Armour

Fort Smith, Arkansas 72914-4069